As I grew (Prose)

IMG_1770.jpg

As I grew up

Familial traits occurred

Yet as I gain wisdom

Some flawed traits

Gradually fade away

I am a work in progress

Not a destination

A journey to the bitter end

Moments of epiphanies

Bring change to my heart

Healing to my soul

Some familial behavior

Was abusive and strange

While others calm and loving

I chose my hearts behavior

This builds my character

Not what others say I am

What my heart grasps and builds

A character of heart

Seen in my actions

As to be good or evil

I chose good!

Changing what my children’s

Familial heritage

Leave a Reply

